Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

Anderson Medal

The James R. Anderson Medal of Honor in Applied Geography is the highest honor bestowed by the AAG Applied Geography Specialty Group. It is awarded by the group's board of directors in recognition of highly distinguished service to the profession of geography. It is awarded to individuals or groups who have contributed notably to the advancement of the profession in one or more areas of industry, government, literature, education, research, service to the profession, or public service.

For more information, please refer to the Applied Geography Specialty Group's webpage.

Previous Recipients

2018 Budhendra "Budhu" Badhuri
William Derrenbacher
2014  Jerome E. "Jerry" Dobson
2013 Jeffrey Osleeb
2012  Lee R. Schwartz
2011  Robert B. Honea
2010  Michael N. DeMers
2007  Michael Sutcliffe
2004  Marilyn A. Brown
2003  Barry Wellar
2002  Richard D. Wright
2001  William B. Wood
2000  Kingsley E. Haynes
1999  Joel R. Morrison
1998  Jack Dangermond
1997  Frank H. Thomas
1996  John W. Frazier

For a complete listing, consult the AGSG web page.