Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

AAG Media Achievement Award

Deadline: September 15, yearly

The AAG Media Achievement Award is conferred in recognition of exceptional and outstanding accomplishments in publicizing geographical insights in media of general or mass communication.

One AAG Media Achievement Award may be recommended each year by the AAG Honors Committee, but the award is not necessarily given every year. The AAG Media Achievement Award and the AAG Publications Award are selected by the AAG Honors Committee

To make a nomination: Nominations are invited from: individual AAG members, specialty groups, affinity groups, departments, and other interested parties.  Please submit a nominating letter and the candidate's CV to Candida Mannozzi at with “AAG Media Achievement Award” in the subject line to ensure that the message is properly and swiftly processed.  Digital nominations are preferred, and nomination materials that are emailed as a single attachment as an Adobe Acrobat pdf file are greatly appreciated.  Alternatively, nominations may be faxed to 202-234-2744202-234-2744 or mailed to AAG Honors, Association of American Geographers, 1710 Sixteenth Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20009-3198

Although letters of support are not required for a nomination, most nomination dossiers include 3-5 letters documenting the nominee's contributions to and impact on geography as they relate to the purpose of the award.

AAG Media Achievement Award Recipients  


Richard Campanella for exemplifying how to employ popular media to engage the public in geographical scholarship.



Keith Debbage for his exceptional work in communicating geographic research to the public.



Minelle Mahtani is recognized for being a scholar and communicator who connects geographic scholarship with public discourse.



Allen Carroll is recognized for his career as Art Director at National Geographic Magazine, Executive Vice President at National Geographic Maps, and his unparalleled contributions to the dissemination of and public access to geographical results, concepts, and tools such as ESRI's story maps and other open source tools.



Matthew Rosenberg is recognized for his success in promoting greater understanding of geography through web and social media, as well as through his other publications and work.


Robert Kitchin is recognized for his exceptional work both on the media and in the media, and for advancing our understanding of media geography.


Marshall Shepherd is a frequently sought out expert on weather, climate, and remote sensing by a multitude of news programs. He hosts "Weather Geeks" on The Weather Channel and has inspired numerous students to pursue careers in the field.


Derek Alderman in recognition of his dedication to promoting the important role that geography plays in people's lives through public media outlets.


William G. Moseley for his effective use of the media to raise public understanding of social and environmental issues in Africa and beyond, and his success in fostering awareness of the insights that can come from bringing a geographical perspective to bear on those issues.


Joshua Muldavin for his geographical insight into the major issues confronting a large portion of the world that would otherwise go unnoticed, and in recognition of his outstanding promotion of geography through various global media.


Harm de Blij for his promotion of spatial reasoning and teaching of geographic principles through a variety of broadcast, digital, and print media including ABC's Good Morning America, for which he won an Emmy Award, NBC News, PBS, and most recently his book,Why Geography Matters which appeared in paperback in 2007.


Craig Colten for his consistent, knowledgeable voice for geography in a variety of American and international print, radio, and television media outlets, and in particular in recognition of his outstanding work with the media following Hurricane Katrina.


Joni K. Seager for her success in bringing geographic work to the attention of the public through two atlases, The State of Women in the World, and The State of the Earth Atlas and through numerous mass media channels.


Mark Monmonier for exceptional contributions to newspapers and encyclopedias that have engaged non-geographers and in issues surrounding the design, construction, and interpretation of maps.


David DiBiase for creative adaptation of multimedia techniques and for thoughtful writing and presentations that have enriched cartographic scholarship.


Antoine Bailly for bringing international acclaim to geography through his work as Scientific Director of the Festival International Géographique.